The 7 Signs Of An Empire In Decline

Six stages define the life span of an empire:

The age of pioneers

The age of conquests

The age of commerce

The age of affluence

The age of intellect, ending with bread and circuses, and

The age of decadence

There are common features to every age of decadence:

An undisciplined, over-extended military

The conspicuous display of wealth

A massive disparity between rich and poor

A desire to live off a bloated state

An obsession with sex

But perhaps the most notorious trait of all is the debasement of the currency.